2017 London Marathon MPs

Record Number of MPs to Run 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon

We are set to see several new records at the 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon but one record which has already been set ahead of 23rd April is the total number of MP’s running the 2017 race.

This year will see 16 MP’s  running the 26.2 mile course around the capital, smashing all previous records. A record of 9 was set in 2014 and since 1981, 70 members of parliament have run the London Marathon.

The Conservative Party provides the majority of this year’s running politicians with nine to Labour’s five. Labour will have the oldest and first knighted MP running in 70-year-old Sir Kevin Barron. We will also see three women MPs-another record-including the first SNP member to ever run, Hannah Bardell (there are none for the Liberal Democrats this year).

Eight of this year’s entrants are London Marathon debutants however, following the success of last years race Secretary of State for Wales, Alun Cairns will start as the fastest entrant. 15 minutes behind him last year was Labour’s Dan Jarvis followed by Conservative MP, Edward Timpson 7 minutes later.

There are several other London Marathon records in the book held by MPs. Matthew Parris who has done five London Marathons (1981-85) holds the record for the fastest MP. Another great record was set by Dick Douglas, Gary Waller and Alistair Burt who jointly hold the record for the highest number of London Marathon’s completed as an MP with 10 races under their belts. Douglas went on to complete a further 11 London Marathons after he left Parliament and at the age of 70, decided that his 21st in 2002 would be his last.

The MPs running in 2017 are as follows;

Jon AshworthLabour, Leicester SouthDebutNational Association for Children of Alcoholics
Hannah BardellSNP, LivingstoneDebutMichelle Henderson Cervical Cancer Trust & Jaks Den
Sir Kevin BarronLabour, Rother Valley5:16:47 (2007)Age Concern Rotherham
Alun CairnsCon, Vale of Glamorgan3:28:02 (2016)Heads Together & Age Connects
Rehman ChishtiCon, Gillingham and RainhamDebutCancer Research UK
Nic DakinLabour, ScunthorpeDebutScunthorpe Baptist Church Food Bank, Pancreatic Cancer & Lyndsey Lodge Hospice
Simon DanczukIndependent, Rochdale4:49:11 (2016)Rochdale Connections Trust
Mims DaviesCon, EastleighDebutCRY
Jonathan DjanoglyCon, HuntingdonDebutMagpas Air Ambulance
Chris EvansLabour, Islwyn5:07:51 (2015)Contact a Family
Graham EvansCon, Weaver Vale4:25:36 (2016)ABF & Muscular Dystrophy
Chris GreenCon, Bolton WestDebutBolton Hospice
Dan JarvisLabour, Barnsley Central3:43:38 (2016)The Barnsley Hospice
Scott MannCon, North CornwallDebutFriends of Bodmin, Launceston & Stratton Hospitals
Amanda SollowayCon, Derby North7:16:51 (2016)Baby Unit at Royal Derby Hospital
Edward TimpsonCon, Crewe & Nantwich3:42:24 (2014)ABF & Muscular Dystrophy

Good luck to all the MP runners at this years London Marathon!