Tag Archives: Virgin Money London Marathon


This year, the Virgin Money London Marathon has a very special theme. We are asking people to think about their #ReasontoRun. Hugh Brasher, the race director, explained; We know every single runner has a unique #ReasonToRun the world’s greatest marathon. Whether it’s to set a PB, to raise money for a cause, to remember a loved one, to break a Guinness …

Read More »

Hug and McFadden to defend London Marathon Wheelchair Titles

The world’s richest wheelchair marathon returns to the streets of London on Sunday 23 April when two of the greatest wheelchair racers ever seen defend their Virgin Money London Marathon titles against the largest elite fields in the history of the event and Switzerland’s ‘Silver Bullet’ Marcel Hug and USA’s ‘Queen of the Roads’ Tatyana McFadden will be outstanding favourites to …

Read More »

Sumgong stars in stellar field at 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon

Olympic champion Jemima Sumgong will defend her Virgin Money London Marathon title on Sunday 23 April against one of the strongest women’s fields ever assembled for a major city marathon. Sumgong defied the odds last April when she recovered from a bruising fall to beat the world’s best in the British capital with a devastating finish. The 32-year-old went on …

Read More »

Virgin Money Giving London Marathon Wine Promotion

Earlier on this month Virgin Money Giving launched a competition to give away 600 cases of wine to Virgin Money London Marathon fundraisers who started their fundraising on Virgin Money Giving early. This is because people who start their fundraising early raise more – and that’s a fact! With our first 150 cases already sent out, we’ve been delighted to see winners …

Read More »

Meeting the 2016 Virgin Money London Marathon elite men “fastest four”

2016 Virgin Money London Marathon Elite Men

The second Press Conference of the 2016 Virgin Money London Marathon is running royalty; four of the elite men and the fastest four people at last year’s London Marathon; Stanley Biwott, Wilson Kipsang, Dennis Kimetto and, last year’s winner, Eliud Kipchoge. These four men have all run a 26.2 mile marathon in under 2 hours and 5 minutes – an …

Read More »